Day Four – and there’s more

 

The site looking East

The site looking East

The trench is holding on to its secrets, we are still going down, but it’s slow, exhausting work, as the ground is so hard and the weather so hot. But progress has been made by the diggers, and there has been more pottery and some lovely quality flint tools found today. The flutter of anticipation is still there and with every mattock swing we may just uncover the ashy charcoal layer filled with answers to the many questions we have about the site.

The mattock gang

The mattock gang

Today we were joined by Robin who was on his holidays but very interested in what we were doing. He came to help find any objects the diggers had missed. He set to work on the spoil heap and found a piece of prehistoric pottery and some struck flints. Sadly soon his Dad came to get him as the car was packed and they had to wend their way back home to Scotland. Hope to see you again Robin when you are older and we can come and help on a dig you are running 🙂

Robin and his Mum finding archaeological finds on the spoil heap

Robin and his Mum finding archaeological finds on the spoil heap

A very happy Robin

A very happy Robin

 

Possible Bronze Age pottery found today

Possible Bronze Age pottery found today

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day Four – and there’s more

  1. Reblogged this on Tommy Muncie, Writer and commented:
    When I’m not writing, I like digging. I’m trained as a ranger and when I’m between contracts I volunteer my skills to stay sharp, and right now I’m supporting the National Trust. Archaological digging is new to me, so thanks to all the people who made these last two days great. Oh yeah, and take a look at the photos. I live five minutes down the road from THIS. I’ve been to the Grand Canyon and the Alhambra, but sometimes it’s good to remember I’ve got world heritage status coastline right outside my front door…

Leave a Reply

